Kent County, Delaware

According to, Kent County, Delaware is located in the heart of the Delmarva Peninsula and is one of the three counties that make up Delaware. With a population of 164,868 people, Kent County is the state’s second most populous county after New Castle. The county seat is Dover, which is also the state capital.

The land area of Kent County covers 838 square miles and it includes both rural and suburban areas. The county has a variety of terrain including rolling hills, flat plains, and wetlands. The climate in Kent County is generally mild with hot summers and cold winters.

The economy of Kent County is largely based on agriculture with poultry being the primary agricultural product. Other industries in the area include manufacturing, technology, health care, finance and insurance, hospitality and tourism, education, government services and more.

The median household income in Kent County was $60,402 as of 2019 which was lower than both the State’s median income ($66,054) as well as that for all U.S households ($63k). The poverty rate in Kent County was 11% as compared to 12% for Delaware overall.

Education in Kent County includes public schools operated by two different school districts: Capital School District (serving Dover) and Lake Forest School District (serving Felton). There are also many private schools located throughout the county including several Catholic schools as well as Christian academies and other independent schools.

When it comes to recreational activities there are plenty to choose from in Kent County. Visitors can take advantage of numerous outdoor activities such as hiking trails at Killens Pond State Park or boating on Silver Lake or even take a trip to nearby Rehoboth Beach for some fun in the sun. There are also several museums throughout the county such as Air Mobility Command Museum at Dover Air Force Base or Biggs Museum of American Art in downtown Dover that offer visitors a unique cultural experience.

Kent County, Delaware

History of Kent County, Delaware

Kent County, Delaware has a long and storied history dating back to the earliest days of European settlement in the area. The first Europeans to arrive in the region were Dutch settlers who arrived in 1631. They established a trading post near what is now Dover, which soon became an important center of commerce for the region. In 1682, William Penn granted a charter for Kent County and it was officially founded in 1683 with Dover as its county seat.

During the colonial period, Kent County was largely agricultural with tobacco being an important crop. The county also had several gristmills and sawmills which provided lumber for local building projects. In 1777, during the American Revolution, Kent County saw its share of fighting as British forces occupied Dover and nearby towns before retreating in 1778.

After the war, Kent County continued to grow and prosper as a hub of trade and industry. Agriculture remained an important part of the local economy with wheat being one of the primary crops grown in the area. In addition to agriculture, other industries such as shipbuilding and iron working also developed during this time period.

In 1802, Dover was incorporated as a city and it soon became an important center for politics and government in Delaware due to its close proximity to Philadelphia and Washington D.C.. During this time period many prominent politicians including Caesar Rodney (a signer of the Declaration of Independence) were from or lived in Kent County at one point or another.

In 1868, railroads began connecting Kent County with other parts of Delaware which helped further boost economic development throughout the region by providing easier access to markets outside of Delaware’s borders. Over time more industries such as manufacturing began developing throughout Kent County which helped drive economic growth throughout much of 20th century until today where agriculture is still an important part but industry plays just as big a role in driving economic growth within county borders today.

Major cities and towns in Kent County, Delaware

Kent County, Delaware is home to several cities and towns, each with its own unique identity and character. The largest city in Kent County is Dover, which serves as the county seat. Located just 30 miles southeast of Wilmington, Dover is home to approximately 37,000 residents and is the fastest growing city in Delaware. The city of Dover boasts a vibrant downtown area with shops, restaurants, and other attractions that make it a great place to visit or live.

The second largest city in Kent County is Milford, which has a population of around 10,000 people. Milford was founded in 1780 and has since grown into an important center for commerce and industry within the county. The city’s downtown area features several historic buildings and shops that make it a popular destination for visitors. Additionally, Milford also offers a variety of recreational activities such as camping at Killens Pond State Park or boating on Mispillion River.

The town of Smyrna is located just north of Dover and has a population of approximately 11,000 people. Smyrna was established in 1730 as an agricultural community but has since developed into an important center for commerce within the county. Several major companies have their headquarters located in Smyrna including Amazon’s distribution center which employs thousands of local residents.

In addition to these larger cities there are numerous smaller towns throughout Kent County such as Camden-Wyoming, Hartly, Magnolia and Felton which are all important parts of the local economy and culture. These small towns are great places to explore if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of larger cities like Dover or Milford while still being close enough to visit these locations when desired.

Kent County provides something for everyone whether they want to explore vibrant cities like Dover or relax in one of its many small towns throughout the county. With its diverse population, booming economy and rich history there’s no shortage of things to do or see here so why not come explore what Kent County has to offer today.

Postal codes in Kent County, Delaware

According to Countryaah, Kent County, Delaware is home to a diverse population of approximately 160,000 people. Not only is this county rich in history, but it also offers plenty of activities and attractions for visitors and residents alike. In addition to its great amenities, Kent County also has a variety of postal codes that can help you find important services such as schools, businesses, and government offices.

The main postal code for Kent County is 19901. This code covers the entire county and includes the cities of Dover (19904), and Milford (19963),

The 19901 zip code is home to some of the most populous cities in Kent County, including Dover, Camden-Wyoming, Hartly, Magnolia, and Felton. This zip code covers a large area that includes the entire county and all of its major cities. It is also home to numerous businesses and organizations such as Dover Air Force Base, Delaware State University, and Dover Downs Casino.

In addition to 19901, there are several other postal codes in Kent County that cover smaller areas within the county. For example, 19933 covers part of Dover while 19936 covers part of Milford. There are also several other zip codes throughout Kent County that cover areas such as Camden-Wyoming (19934), Hartly (19941), Magnolia (19955), and Felton (19943).

Kent County has a wide variety of postal codes that can help you find what you need. Whether you’re looking for businesses or organizations in Dover or small towns like Hartly or Magnolia, there’s a postal code for you to use. With its diverse population and booming economy, Kent County is a great place to live or visit so why not come explore what it has to offer today?