Cheyenne County, Colorado

According to, Cheyenne County, Colorado is located in the eastern plains of the state. It was named after the Cheyenne tribe of Native Americans who lived in this region prior to European settlement. The county seat is Cheyenne Wells, and its population as of the 2020 census was 1,873. The county covers an area of 2,090 square miles and has a population density of 0.9 people per square mile.

Cheyenne County has a primarily agricultural economy, with wheat, corn, and hay being among its top crops. Cattle ranching is also important to the local economy. The county also has some oil and gas production activity.

The main highway running through Cheyenne County is US Route 40/287, which runs east-west from Kansas to New Mexico. This highway serves as a major shipping route for goods and services between Denver and other cities along this route.

Cheyenne County has several small towns including Wild Horse, Aroya, Kit Carson, Flagler, Seibert and Cheyenne Wells itself. There are also several unincorporated towns within the county such as Genoa and Darrells Corner.

Cheyenne County has a semi-arid climate with hot summers and cold winters. Average temperatures range from highs in the low 90s during summer months to lows in the mid teens during winter months. Average annual precipitation is about 18 inches per year with most occurring during spring months with occasional snowfall during winter months as well.

The largest employers in Cheyenne County are agriculture related businesses such as farming operations and ranches along with oil & gas companies that operate in the area due to its proximity to oil & gas reserves beneath the surface of nearby counties such as Yuma County Colorado which sits directly south of Cheyenne County’s border line with Kansas state line on its eastern side of Colorado state line on its western side. Other top employers include retail businesses such as convenience stores or small grocery stores that serve local communities throughout Cheyenne County. Other employers include health care facilities, educational institutions, government agencies, banks, restaurants, manufacturing companies, construction firms, professional services firms etc.

Education facilities within Cheyenne County include public schools, private schools & community colleges. The public school system includes three elementary schools (K-5), one middle school (6-8) & one high school (9-12) located within Wild Horse town limits. Private schools include St Joseph’s Catholic School located within Kit Carson town limits while community colleges serve all residents throughout Cheyenne county via online programs or classes offered at nearby campuses from other counties or states.

Cheyenne County, Colorado

History of Cheyenne County, Colorado

Cheyenne County, Colorado was founded in 1889 and is located in the eastern part of the state. It was named after the Cheyenne Indian tribe that lived in the area prior to its settlement. The county was originally part of Weld County, but was split off from it in 1889 due to its large size. The county seat is Cheyenne Wells, which was established in 1887 and became an incorporated town in 1906.

The first settlers to the area were cattle ranchers who arrived in the late 19th century. They quickly established ranches and farms throughout the region, which soon became a hub for agricultural production. Cattle ranching has remained a major industry throughout the county’s history, although other industries have been developed over time as well. Agriculture is still an important part of the local economy today, with wheat, corn and alfalfa being some of the most important crops grown. In recent years, there has also been an increase in oil and gas exploration activity within Cheyenne County as well as other industries such as tourism and recreation.

Cheyenne County also has a rich cultural history that dates back to its earliest days when it served as home to many Native American tribes including Arapaho, Cheyenne, Ute and Sioux Indians who all lived on or near what is now known as Cheyenne County before it was settled by Europeans. There are several historical sites located throughout Cheyenne County that tell of this fascinating past including Fort Rankin State Historic Site which features a reconstructed fort built by settlers during the Indian Wars of Colorado Territory, along with several other historic buildings that document early pioneer life within this region.

Major cities and towns in Cheyenne County, Colorado

Cheyenne County, Colorado is home to a number of cities and towns, each with their own unique history and character. The county seat is Cheyenne Wells, which was established in 1887 and became an incorporated town in 1906. The town has a population of about 1,200 people and is the hub for many of the counties services. Other major cities in the county include Kit Carson, Aroya, Wild Horse, Bethune, Chivington and Flagler.

Kit Carson was founded in 1878 as a stop on the Denver-Pacific Railroad line. The town is now known for its large grain elevator which serves many of the surrounding farms and ranches. Aroya was established in 1887 as a trading post for settlers who were travelling through the area.

Wild Horse was founded in 1887 and is known for its historic downtown which features several buildings from the late 1800s. The town’s main attraction is the Wild Horse Saloon, which is said to be one of the oldest bars in Colorado. Bethune was established in 1886 as an agricultural center and has a population of around 500 people. Chivington was founded in 1882 and is known for its large wind turbines that provide electricity to the surrounding area. Lastly, Flagler was established in 1889 as a railroad stop and now has a population of around 1,500 people.

Cheyenne County also has a number of smaller towns such as Arapahoe, Arlington, Eads, Haswell and Rush. Each of these towns have their own unique history and charm that make them worth exploring. Whether you’re looking for a place to relax or explore some history, Cheyenne County has something to offer everyone.

Postal codes in Cheyenne County, Colorado

According to Countryaah, Cheyenne County, Colorado is located in the eastern part of the state and has a total of seven postal codes. The most populous city in the county is Cheyenne Wells, which is served by 81022. The second largest city is Arapahoe, which is served by 81020. Both of these cities are located close to each other and provide easy access to the rest of the county. Smaller towns in the region such as Kit Carson and Wild Horse also have their own postal codes. The remaining four postal codes in Cheyenne County are 81021, 81023, 81024 and 81025. Each code serves a different area within the county and provides services to its residents.

The postal codes are also used for business purposes as they make it easier for businesses to mail out packages or letters without having to worry about postage costs. This makes it easier for businesses to be more efficient when dealing with customers who live outside of their area as well as those who live within it. Postal codes can also help businesses identify potential customers in different areas that may not be aware of their services or products. By using postal codes, businesses can target specific areas that may be more likely to purchase from them than other areas within Cheyenne County.