Chautauqua County, Kansas

According to, Chautauqua County, Kansas is located in the southeastern part of the state. It has a population of 6,921 people and covers an area of 573 square miles. The county seat is Sedan, located in the south-central part of the county. Chautauqua County is home to several small towns and rural communities, including Cedar Vale and Niotaze. The economy in Chautauqua County is mainly driven by agriculture, with wheat being the main crop grown here. Other crops grown in the county include corn, soybeans, alfalfa hay, and sorghum. Livestock production also contributes to the economy of Chautauqua County with beef cattle being raised here.

The county has a few recreational opportunities available for its residents and visitors. There are two lakes located in Chautauqua County: Elk City Lake and Longton Lake which offer fishing and boating opportunities for those who enjoy outdoor activities. There are also two golf courses located in Chautauqua County: Cedarvale Country Club and Niotaze Golf Course which offer great views of the countryside as you play a round or two on their courses. There are also several hiking trails throughout the county that allow visitors to explore more of what this beautiful area has to offer.

Chautauqua County, Kansas

History of Chautauqua County, Kansas

The history of Chautauqua County, Kansas dates back to the mid-1800s. The county was formed in 1875 from part of the larger Cherokee Nation. The county was named after the Chautauqua River which runs through the area. In 1883, the county seat moved from Cedar Vale to Sedan, which is still the current county seat today.

The early settlers of Chautauqua County were mainly farmers and ranchers who sought to make a living off of the land. Wheat, corn, and sorghum were some of the main crops grown in the area while beef cattle and hogs were also raised on many farms. As time passed, more people began to move into Chautauqua County and by 1900 it had become home to over 5,000 people.

In recent years, Chautauqua County has seen a population increase due to an influx of retirees looking for a quieter lifestyle away from big cities. Despite its rural setting, Chautauqua County has remained an attractive place for those seeking employment opportunities in agriculture or other industries as well as recreational activities like fishing and golfing at Longton Lake or Cedarvale Country Club.

Today, Chautauqua County is home to 6,921 people who enjoy its picturesque landscape and small-town charm. While agriculture remains an important part of its economy, there are also other industries that have helped contribute to its growth such as manufacturing and tourism-related businesses. Although it may not be one of Kansas’s biggest counties by population size or landmass, it has managed to remain an important part of this state’s history for more than 140 years now with no signs of slowing down anytime soon.

Major cities and towns in Chautauqua County, Kansas

Chautauqua County, Kansas is home to several cities and towns that are full of history and character. The county seat is Sedan, which is the largest city in the county with a population of around 1,500 people. Other larger cities in the county include Cedar Vale (pop. 890), Longton (pop. 585), and Peru (pop. 431).

Cedar Vale is located in the heart of Chautauqua County and is known for its many recreational activities such as fishing at Cedarvale Lake or golfing at the Cedarvale Country Club. The town also has an active arts scene with several galleries and studios where visitors can view local artwork or take classes in a variety of mediums.

Longton is located on Longton Lake and known for its recreational activities such as fishing, boating, camping, and swimming. The town also has a vibrant downtown area with shops, restaurants, and other attractions that make it an ideal destination for visitors looking to explore Chautauqua County’s unique culture.

Peru has a rich history as it was once home to some of the earliest settlers in the area who arrived in 1877 from France. The city boasts several historic sites such as Fort Scott National Historic Site as well as plenty of outdoor recreation opportunities like hiking trails or visiting nearby lakes like Longton Lake or Cedarvale Lake.

Other smaller towns located within Chautauqua County include Niotaze (pop. 120), Elgin (pop 80), Burden (pop 75), Caneyville (pop 70), and Dexter (pop 60). Each one has its own unique charm that makes it worth exploring when visiting this part of Kansas.

Postal codes in Chautauqua County, Kansas

According to Countryaah, Chautauqua County, Kansas is serviced by the US Postal Service and is assigned a range of zip codes. The county seat of Sedan has a zip code of 67361, while Cedar Vale has a zip code of 67024. Longton’s zip code is 67352, and Peru’s is 67360. The smaller towns in Chautauqua County all have their own unique zip codes as well. Niotaze’s zip code is 67355; Elgin’s is 67038; Burden’s is 67019; Caneyville’s is 67333; and Dexter’s is 67039.

The US Postal Service also offers rural route services to certain areas in Chautauqua County that don’t have traditional street addresses. For example, rural route addresses are used in the town of Longton with an address format that looks like this: RR#1 Box#123, Longton KS 67352-9998.

In addition to the traditional street address and rural route services offered by the US Postal Service, Chautauqua County also offers post office box services at many locations throughout the county. These post office boxes are a convenient way for people who don’t live in an area with traditional street addresses to receive their mail without having to drive long distances to pick it up from their local post office.

Chautauqua County offers several different options for mail delivery services depending on where you live or work within its boundaries. Whether you need a traditional street address or prefer the convenience of a post office box or rural route service, you can rest assured knowing that your mail will be delivered safely and securely no matter where you are in Chautauqua County.